Brandt School Universität Erfurt

Welcome to the Brandt School! - Willy Brandt School Hosts a Welcome Reception

On November 22nd the Willy Brandt School’s students, professors, and staff came together for the class of 2019 Welcome Reception. Despite the fact that the students had already enjoyed a month of lectures and courses, the event at Angermuseum in Erfurt was a warm welcome to the incoming students from over 30 different countries.

After a musical opening by the band Cutting Strings, Prof. Dr. Guido Mehlkop, Dean of the Faculty of Law, Social Sciences and Economics started the reception with opening remarks.

It was with great pleasure that Dr. Anna-Maija Mertens, Managing Director of Transparency International Germany, gave the keynote speech. Dr. Mertens explained the history of Transparency International and the vision behind her work as Director. TI was founded by the former World Bank Director Peter Eigen. Since inception, Transparency International has worked to fight corruption, and as its name suggests, to promote transparency in government and civil society. Of particular relevance was Dr. Mertens’ statement that transparency can only be maintained through a effective and efficient coalition of the state, the economy, and civil society. Dr. Mertens also called on the students to continue asking critical questions concerning the link between money and politics. She cited the recent Paradise Papers affair to illustrate the importance and the relevance of her appeal to action.

After the keynote speech, the newly elected President of the Student Government, Nimene Meyers, gave colorful insights into the upcoming work of the student government. Words of welcome were also issued by the Director of the Brandt School, Prof. Dr. Heike Grimm and by the Executive Director of the Haniel Stiftung, Dr. Rupert Antes.

After the speeches, students in attendance had the opportunity to mingle and take photos. The welcome reception ended with a get-together at the Havana Bar in Erfurt, organized by the Willy Brandt School student government.